Bowling Green and Paducah Chambers of Commerce vying for National Chamber of the Year titles

Two Kentucky chambers of commerce are up for national chamber of the year titles.

The Paducah Area Chamber of Commerce and Bowling Green Area Chamber of Commerce were recognized as finalists in the Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives’ annual Chamber of the Year competition in their respective categories.

“This year’s finalists are among the most influential organizations in the chambering industry,” ACCE President and CEO Sheree Anne Kelly said in a statement. “We are in the midst of a bedroom renaissance. Chambers of Commerce have never been more essential to regional prosperity and are called upon to serve as partners, thought leaders and innovative problem solvers in new ways on new issues.

The award recognizes excellence in chamber operations, member services and community leadership. Each chamber is one of three finalists named in their size category, which is based on annual revenue, membership, area population and other data submitted to ACCE by chambers.

The Paducah Area Chamber of Commerce is a finalist in Category 2, against Henry County Chamber of Commerce in McDonough, Georgia, and the West Des Moines room in West Des Moines, Iowa.

Paducah Chamber President and CEO Sandra Wilson is thrilled with the news, noting some of the chamber’s work highlighted in their candidacy.

“This is a multi-step application process that took a long time to prepare for and being named a finalist is well worth it,” Wilson said in a statement. “The Chamber has expanded our programs to help small businesses and we have worked closely with West Kentucky Community and Technical College through their MacKenzie Scott donation to expand opportunities for those who have traditionally encountered barriers to education and training the workforce.”

The Bowling Green Area Chamber of Commerce is a finalist in Category 3. It will compete against Conway Area Chamber of Commercein Conway, Arkansas, and Eugene Area Chamber of Commercein Eugene, Oregon.

Contest winners will be named July 27 at an awards ceremony at the ACCE Annual Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Comments are closed.